Desire meets Uncertainty

I hesitate to publish this post as I am writing.

Early last week I caught my housemate, Kirsten, watching a video made by Zach Sobiech. He was an 18-year-old boy who died of osteosarcoma (bone cancer). Zach wrote a song “Clouds” that became so popular that famous actors and actresses made a video in response to his. Kirsten was watching his short film, “My Last Days: Meet Zach Sobiech“. I didn’t watch the video at that moment. I am now. Alone in the living room on Memorial Day. It is sad but inspiring like it is meant to be.

A few days later, Kirsten informed me of a girl who just died of osteosarcoma at age 24. She had gone to Issaquah High School with Kirsten and even gave her rides to school whenever Kirsten missed the bus.

Naturally I thought of these two people when I called to make an appointment to cut my hair off for donating, not really knowing what exactly their stories were. All I knew at that moment was that they were touching other people’s hearts by being beautiful people. I want to be beautiful to others and touch other people’s hearts as well. It wasn’t because they were dying; it was really because of the way they were living.

Over the next few days after I made my appointment I had doubts. Am I going to look okay? I really like my long hair. Maybe I should just get a trim? As I was sitting in the salon chair I thought, “It will grow out. I want to be beautiful. More inside especially at this moment than out.”

 

 

 

Before and after. Thanks for taking the after photo Kirsten!!photo (3) - Copy photo (4)

Leave a Reply

