My Favorite Foodspiration

The Lean Green Bean. She has changed my life in food culture. I found her on the Anytime Health website when I was working as an instructor and assistant manager at Anytime Fitness. Lindsay is a registered dietitian who uses similar ingredients as me and easy-to-follow recipes. One of the things I discovered from her is homemade flatbread. Last but not least, I am inspired by her food photos! For example:

whole wheat flatbread.jpg Whole Wheat Flatbread

I had no idea making homemade flatbread was so easy! The one thing I have trouble with is sticking with a recipe completely. I adapted my flatbread from her recipe. Instead of white whole wheat flour I used bread flour + coconut flour since I didn’t have any other flours. Instead of whole milk yogurt I only had strained nonfat yogurt so I used that. Everything stayed the same. Here is my version:


DSC_0163

Coconut Scallion Flatbread

 

My next Lean Green Bean product is banana bread. Here’s her photo:

Her banana bread is made using chickpea + oat flour but since I didn’t have these I used coconut flour + bread flour instead again. I used 3 eggs instead of 2 because my dough was still a little dry. I used honey as my sweetener and added walnuts in the end. Here’s a picture of my version:

Banana Walnut Bread

As you can probably see, she is quite the inspiration for me! I love making healthy and delicious food. I also want to be able to document it for myself and for others to follow easily.

The last foodspiration mention for today is not one person but it is Pinterest. I found a recipe for homemade black bean hummus because, guess what? I didn’t have any chickpeas but I had black beans! My hummus was adapted from here but I halved the recipe since I only had one can of black beans left. I used my leftover 1/2 cup of homemade tahini from the last time I made hummus. I didn’t use onion, cilantro, lemon juice and cumin. I think you can guess why by now. I used canned, chopped jalapeno peppers and apple cider vinegar. Here’s a picture of the original recipe product:

Black Bean Hummus

Here’s mine:

Black Bean Hummus

The beau and I used it right away for my flatbread pizzas for dinner. 🙂

DSC_0166Homemade flatbread with ground beef, garlic, corn and mozzarella

Flatbread PizzaHomemade flatbread with black bean hummus, fried egg, canned jalapeno, corn and mozzarella

I love cooking and experimenting with my own recipes but I definitely still use other sources for guidance and inspiration!

Leave a Reply

